Assembler / Linker

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sohlae

Sohlae

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Interests:Programming. Have knowledge in the following programming language:<br /><br />JBasic<br />C &lt;C++, C#.NET&gt;<br />Assembly Language<br /><br />---<br /><br />Database.
  • Bnet Name:js
  • Bnet Realm:none

Posted 06 June 2010 - 06:48 AM

Do I need to download a specific program in order to have an assembler / linker for my command prompt? See, I am currently studying assembly language and I downloaded Notepad++ for it. In my classroom whenever I type the command path = c:\tasm\bin and tasm "name of program", the program is automatically assembled and then tlink "name of Program" links it and creates an object, map, and executable file.

The problem is tasm is not recognized as an internal or external command in my laptop and I believe the reason for this is because the command path = c:\tasm\bin is not recognized by my computer as well? Please help, thanks.

Edited by Sohlae, 06 June 2010 - 06:50 AM.

#2 summand

summand

Veteran

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Bnet Name:summand

Posted 07 June 2010 - 04:05 AM

Yes, you need to install it separately.
Maybe your teacher can give it to you since TASM is ancient (newest version is from 1997), otherwise you can get it from here:
http://www.phatcode.net/downloads.php?id=280

To get it from your teacher is preferable because you would get the exact same version.

Otherwise, I would recommend NASM but since you use TASM in your course, stick with it.

#3 Sohlae

Sohlae

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Interests:Programming. Have knowledge in the following programming language:<br /><br />JBasic<br />C &lt;C++, C#.NET&gt;<br />Assembly Language<br /><br />---<br /><br />Database.
  • Bnet Name:js

Posted 07 June 2010 - 05:46 AM